Getting into tech or what really?

Getting into tech or what really?

You don’t want to know how many times I ever pondered on what I’ll do with my certificate after school.

“How many people are in the World again, is it 7 billion or 8 billion?”

Out of the 8 billion people in the World, I don’t think there's anyone as confused as I was years back when I was in school. Sometimes, I try not to think about what I’d do after school but that made it more difficult.

I’ll tell you why.

I studied English language Education at the University and inarguably, with my course of study, there’s only one thing visible to me.

“TO TEACH!”

You don’t want to know how many times I ever pondered on what I’ll do with my certificate after school. Sometimes I evaluate my interest to see if I really want to become a Teacher or a Lecturer

Now If you ask, “How did you end up with the course?”

I’d tell you it just happened. I wanted to go to University so badly that I didn’t even have a plan. I was very young but my dream was to further my education and of course, leave the house.

It happened as I wanted, passed every required examination in one sitting but was that all?

Not sure!

How do I fit in?

"...Ibukun, what do you do, what can you say you do?”

Back then, if you were to talk about career, I was clueless but this made me curious as to what I can do, I started attending a lot of career seminars, and my elder sister had a side gig that was planning events. In the blink of an eye, I saw myself attending lots of tech conferences through her, I became exposed to something new but very tricky.

Why was it tricky?

How was it tricky?

I’ll explain, whenever I go to these conferences, what I hear was either, “coding, website development, hackathon, stack or javascript.”

It wasn’t making sense!

"what in God’s name are these guys talking about?” I muttered under my breath one day while listening to a guest speaker.

To worsen it, there's usually a networking session where people are expected to move around and meet 2,3,4,5 individuals that they don’t know.

At that point, I would shy away!

Because my fear was, If anyone walks up to me, what do I even say,

Ibukun, what do you do, what can you say you do?

These worries were taking a hold of me but I was still interested in tech, not like I had any option left.

On the flip side, to try this whole coding thing, I and a close friend decided to go for a coding class.

Not much longer my interest level became a negative slope that went from high to low

The first few days, we were very much interested and happy about the decision we made.

We were taught CSS and I enjoyed the practical classes till everything started becoming a mystery.

I was the first to say, “I’m not doing this again” while she (my friend) attended a few more classes, although it didn’t take her much time to say this, “Ibukun I’ll focus on graphic designs, that is where my passion is”

I laughed when she uttered those words, but inwardly I was not happy with the outcome. With all these incidences, You’d agree with me that I needed direction. I had a conversation with my sister and she told me how the tech ecosystem is and how my talent could be relevant.

“Ibukun you are a writer, you love writing, develop yourself in it and you will stay relevant in the tech space”

My God!

You don’t want to know how courageous I became after those words of affirmation.

To upsurge my courage on being a content writer, I became a blogger

It was to the point that I always looked forward to the next tech event and suddenly, attending tech events became a 5 unit course for me. Going for these seminars made me more confident and when asked what I am currently doing, I would say “I am a content writer!”

I graduated from the University with this mindset, the conviction was so strong that I did not attempt to register or write my faculty’s professional examination (TRCN).

To upsurge my courage on being a content writer, I became a blogger

I was done with school and I definitely knew my career path, It was time to focus on developing myself.

A friend told me about her WordPress blog and how easily she created one herself. I decided to create a blog too. I downloaded the WordPress app, together with some writing and keyword tools on my phone. I started by writing some series (not tech-related), articles, and movie synopsis then published them.

I was happy and I thought I was getting things figured out until it seems like I'm back to square1.